If the administrator has enabled the Private Messaging system, registered members may send each other private messages to communicate outside of the general forum discussions.
How do I send Private Messages?
Private messages work a little like email, but are limited to registered members of this forum. You may be able to include BB code, smilies, images and other attachments in private messages that you send.
You may send a private message to a member of this forum by clicking the 'Compose New' button in the top left section of your Message Center, or by clicking the 'Private Message' button that is visible on the User Profile of a member.
When you send a message, a copy of it is automatically saved to your 'Sent Items' folder.
How do I work with Private Message Folders?
By default, you will have three folders in your Message Center. These are the 'Inbox','Sent Items' and 'Trash' folders.
The 'Inbox' folder contains any new messages you receive. It allows you to view all the messages you have received, along with the name of the person who sent it, and the date and time it was sent. In addition to this, it also displays the usernames of any other members that are in the private message conversation.
The 'Sent Items' folder contains a copy of any messages that you have sent.
The 'Trash' folder contains messages you have chosen to delete. From here, you can also choose to undelete them causing them to return to the folder they originated from, or alternatively you can choose to delete a message permanently.
You can create additional folders for your messages by clicking the 'Add a folder' link.
Each folder has a set of message controls which allow you to select messages, then either move them to one of your custom folders, or delete them. Once you have selected your messages, you can choose the following options from the toolbar:
You will need to periodically delete old messages, as the administrator has probably set a limit to the number of private messages you can have in your folders. If you exceed this number, you will not be able to send or receive new messages until you delete some old ones.
Whenever you read a message, you will have the option to reply or forward it to another member of the forum. You may also have the ability to forward that message to multiple members of your contact list.